DIY food snob makes no-bake cheesecake

When it is over 90 degrees out and we are working to keep our house cool with a winow unit AC and wise timing of opening and closing the windows, one does not use the oven. As much as I really really want to make cupcakes and bread and pizza, I must restrain myself. One does not use the oven.

Look!  Brand name convenience food products.

Look! Brand name convenience food products.

So the weather and my baking addiction are my excuses for making a no-bake cheesecake out of convenience products. I didn’t stoop as far as CoolWhip (God only knows what is in that stuff), but close. Me, the scratch baker who never uses a cake mix. Me, the DIY person who makes my own pasta and vanilla extract. Me, the person who cans jam, dilly beans and salsa every summer. Me, who cans fresh tuna and dries grapes into raisins.  Yes, me. I whipped up a cheesecake from cream cheese, sweetened condensed milk, lemon juice and vanilla and poured it into a pre-made graham cracker crust. Yep.

image

At least I squeezed fresh lemon juice and didn't use the crap from a bottle.

At least I squeezed fresh lemon juice and didn’t use the crap from a bottle.

And it tastes really freaking good, I must say.

Though I did top it with my home-canned Marionberry pie filling.

The recipe? Right here!

And two minutes later, it is ready to go into the fridge.

And two minutes later, it is ready to go into the fridge.

Leave a Reply

