Iced holiday cookies

I got this dough recipe from Vegetarian Times eons ago. They called it “4 in 1 cookie dough,” and listed various cookies that you could make from it. I always use it for iced cut-out cookies. When I am in holiday baking mode, I usually work in stages. First, I made the dough, form it into three portions and then freeze it in zip-top bags. When I have time to bake, I take out a portion, thaw it in the fridge, roll it out, bake the cookies, and then put the cookies in the freezer. The final step is right before gifting or serving — I frost the still-frozen cookies.

The recipe makes a LOT. Most years, I usually make 2/3 of this size batch.

4 cups all pupose flour
2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
2 T baking powder
1/2 t salt
1 1/2 cups unsalted butter, softened (three sticks)
2 cups sugar
3 eggs at room temperature
2 T vanilla extract

Mix dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl and set aside. Using an electric mixer beat butter in a large bowl until light and fluffy. Add sugar and beat. Add eggs one at a time. Add vanilla. Beat well. Slowly add flour mixture and mix until combined.

Chill dough 30 minutes or freeze for future use. When ready to bake, roll dough on a lightly-floured surface until about 1/4″ thick. Cut into shapes and bake on ungreased baking sheets for about 10 minutes at 350 degrees.

Icing
Mix powdered sugar with a bit of soy milk until a thick, spreadable paste forms. Add a little bit of almond or vanilla extract and any food coloring you desire. (Sorry I don’t have proportions here — since I usually frost smaller amounts of cookies at a time, I tend to play it by ear.)

IMG_0664-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

