Café 60 Salad

Cafe 60 Salad

Café 60 Salad

One of the many things I have enjoyed about retirement is having time to volunteer. One day a week, we volunteer at a senior meal site. I serve food, package meals to go, and clean up. I got my Food Handlers permit. And I have even learned to use the giant commercial dishwasher! The dining room is called “Café 60,” as you have to be at least 60 to eat there. Meeting the diners and fellow volunteers has been rewarding (and more fun than scrubbing baked-on sauce from a giant steam-tray pan). I hope I’ve still got it going on when I am 60, 70, 80+.

Most of the food served at Café 60 is geared toward the tastes of an older generation. Rarely is there anything vegetarian (where will I eat when I am old??). Still, the meals are pretty well balanced and the quality of the food is good.

One salad served at Café 60 caught my eye. As far as I can tell, it consists of finely chopped raw broccoli and cauliflower, grated carrot, some red onion, vinegar and spices. I started making this at home and really like it. I add other things, too — always garlic and sometimes bell pepper, radish, and a tiny amount of jalepeño.

It is a crunchy, tasty, healthy mix.

Café 60 Salad

Combine this stuff:
Equal parts finely chopped broccoli and cauliflower
About half as much grated carrot
A few tablespoons of finely chopped red or white onion (or scallions)

Mix up:
Red wine vinegar
Salt
Pepper
A clove or two crushed garlic
Some dried or fresh herbs to taste: oregano, basil, savory, parsley
A touch of olive oil, if you like

Mix the dressing into the veggies and enjoy. Keeps well in the fridge.

 

